To Find out more information

Please check out our links & resources page

What is the Minnesota ACE program?

First you need to understand what ACE is. ACE stands for adverse childhood experience and describes a traumatic experience in a person’s life occurring before the age of 18 that the person remembers as an adult.

In a 2011 Minnesota  survey, individuals were asked if they had experienced any of nine types of ACEs. 

The nine ACEs are:

  • physical abuse
  • sexual abuse
  • emotional abuse
  • mental illness of a household member
  • problematic drinking or alcoholism of a household member
  • illegal street or prescription drug use by a household member
  • divorce or separation of a parent
  • domestic violence towards a parent
  • incarceration of a household member

The ACE score is a measure of cumulative exposure to adverse childhood conditions. Exposure to any single ACE condition is counted as one point. If a person experienced none of the conditions in childhood, the ACE score is zero. Points are then totaled for a final ACE score. It is important to note that the ACE score does not capture the frequency or severity of any given ACE in a person’s life, focusing instead on the number of ACE conditions experienced. In addition, the ACE conditions used in the ACE survey reflect only a select list of experiences.

The Minnesota ACE Program is a Non-profit that works with multiple local organisations that help individuals with understanding ACE experiences and to help bring awareness for those in need.

No form settings found. Please configure it.


No Hours settings found. Please configure it

To Contact one of our sponsors please check out their about page located in our top menu bar